Chocolate Chip Cherry Sorbet

Cherries are in Season!

I bought a 3 lb bag of cherries on sale at my local Shop Rite and after snacking on them with my meals throughout the week, I still had a bunch leftover. So when I received my June issue of Better Homes and Garden Magazine and saw cherries on the cover I knew I’d find a great recipe that I could adlib and use them on.

Using their recipe as a guide, I replaced the sugar with granular Swerve and added Lily’s chocolate chips on top. The chocolate chips go perfectly with the cherries and sorbet is so refreshing to eat this time of year on a hot summer afternoon. The possibilities are endless as to what other fruits you could make into sorbet.

What fruits do you think would be great to make into sorbet?

Chocolate Chip Cherry Sorbet

  • Servings: 6
  • Difficulty: Easy!
  • Print


Ingredients:
3 cups of pitted cherries or frozen cherries
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup or less of granular Swerve
Lily’s Chocolate Chips for topping

Directions
Pit the cherries, and place them on a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Freeze them uncovered for 6 hours or overnight. For the syrup, combine sugar and 1/4 cup of water in a saucepan until simmering, whisking it until sugar is dissolved. Remove from heat allowing it to cool. Refrigerate it for 2 hours. After the allotted time, put cherries and syrup into a food processor with the S blade. Process for 3-5 minutes scraping down sides until smooth. Transfer the sorbet into a freezer-safe container and freeze for at least 4 hours. Scrape sorbet with a melon baller and add chocolate chips on top.
Sugarfreeeasy.com


Leave a comment